Sorry, your browser does not support JavaScript! SWORM


Space Weather Operations, Research and Mitigation Subcommittee


about sworm

SWORM Subcommittee

The Space Weather Operations, Research, and Mitigation (SWORM) Subcommittee (SC) is a Federal interagency body of the U.S. National Science and Technology Council, under the Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Sustainability.

Pursuant to Executive Order 13744, the SWORM Subcommittee was chartered in 2016 to coordinate Federal Government departments and agencies to meet the goals and objectives specified in the National Space Weather Strategy (NSWS) (October 2015) and the activities defined in the National Space Weather Action Plan (NSWAP) (October 2015). The Subcommittee also provides space-weather focused input to the National Planning Frameworks called for by Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD-8): National Preparedness (2011), the national critical infrastructure resilience initiatives identified in PPD-21: Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience (2013), and any other relevant policies.

SWORM activities are conducted through the Subcommittee and six Working Groups. Each Working Group supports one of the six goals for the National Space Weather Strategy. The six goals are:

  1. Establish Benchmarks for Space-Weather Events
  2. Enhance Response and Recovery Capabilities
  3. Improve Protection and Mitigation Efforts
  4. Improve Assessment, Modeling, and Prediction of Impacts on Critical Infrastructure
  5. Improve Space-Weather Services through Advancing Understanding and Forecasting
  6. Increase International Cooperation

The following agencies are involved in SWORM activities:


  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of the Interior
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation

Agencies and Service Branches

  • Federal Aviation Administration
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Federal Communications Commission
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Federal Railroad Administration
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • National Science Foundation
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Office of the Director of National Intelligence
  • United States Air Force
  • United States Geological Survey
  • United States Navy
  • United States Postal Service

Executive Office of the President

  • National Security Council
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Office of Science and Technology Policy (Co-chair)
  • White House Military Office

Please note that SWORM Subcommittee and Working Group meetings are not open to the public.